2020 GAGA Construction Awards

Welcome to the Galvanizers Association Galvanizing Awards (GAGAs), a free annual competition which has been recognising the use of galvanizing since 1994.

Whether you’re an Architect, Engineer, Constructor or Artist and your project has incorporated galvanizing in a sculptural installation or a large-scale development, we want to hear from you.

All we need from you are: 1. Good quality photos 2. A short description of where galvanizing was used Regardless of whether you have a small, artistic installation or a large-scale industrial building, all projects are judged on merit not scale, across six categories: architecture, engineering, detail, sustainability, duplex and art.  


As a result of COVID-19 the timeline of our 2020 Awards has changed – judging and announcement of the winners. We will be announcing the new dates shortly.

What type of project is eligible for the construction awards?

All projects, large or small, new or refurbished, from across the UK and Ireland, completed after 1st January 2018 are eligible. All UK and Irish companies can enter a project located overseas. Read more about how to enter the GAGAs.

It was quite a shock, the shortlist was incredibly strong and we genuinely didn’t expect to be asked to step on stage.

Tonkin Liu Architects, Architecture Winners

GAGA 2019

The 25th anniversary of the Galvanizers Association Galvanizing Awards celebrated conservation, innovation and sustainability. Projects that prioritised public engagement with landscape and resident culture were favourites with the judges, with winners evidencing strongly the connection between the built world and nature. Read more about GAGA 2019  


26 Years Young

2020 is the 26th anniversary of our GAGAs.

We have awarded our prestigious galvanized watering cans to an illustrious list of projects from the new stand at Leicester City Football Club to Tonkin Liu’s Old Shed New House.

Along the way, the versatility of the Awards has meant that recognition has also landed at the door of P. Johnson & Company, Ian Ritchie Architects, Chris Wilkinson Architects and Sutherland Hussey Harris, to mention a few. Scroll through the timeline to view our previous winners.